2016 Regional Champs!

12795565_10101617289561277_6931330471679432627_n

Another competitive synchro season in Canada is upon us! Since my bump is a bit of an obstacle in the water (think ballet leg with a beach ball on your stomach), I have still been practicing with my Olymipum Synchro masters team every week, but I stopped competing and doing demos in December. That being said, I love my teammates and am still very much a member of the team, so I was right alongside them in Scarborough as we unveiled our new routine at Synchro Ontario’s Central/North Regional Championship.

We had no idea what to expect. We entered the competition with a new routine, and a few women down – two to injury, one to training camp in Florida, and me with my bubba! We also swam the routine without highlights because one of those two injured swimmers is our favourite fishy to throw. It should be noted though that she did actually swim the rest of the routine, we just opted out of tossing her around so she could continue her recovery – what a tough chick!

There were five teams in our category, and we knew several of them would be tough teams to beat. One of them came second at the 2014 FINA Masters World Championship in Montreal, and another had several members of that meet’s bronze medal team (translation: my old teammates) 😉

We drew second and had a great swim. There are several areas of the routine we are ready to spruce up, but we had nothing to be ashamed of in our debut! After the fifth competitor swam, we found out that we sneaked out a gold medal by 0.8333 points! Check out the full results here.

The gold medal was really exciting, but so was the opportunity to swim in the new Toronto Pan Am Sports Centre. The facility is beautiful and there are a lot of activities members have the opportunity to participate in. I’m looking forward to competing there again in the future!

Up next for my team is our Ontario Masters Provincial Championship taking place in Toronto on May 28, 2016. Considering I’m due on June 1, I’m not quite sure if I’ll make it to this one, but I guess we’ll just have to wait and see!


Leave a comment